Child Custody and Divorce: Connecticut Parenting Education Classes

Essentially, if you are getting divorced and you have children or are involved in a child custody dispute in Connecticut, you will have to complete a parenting education program.

The program consists of 6 hours worth of classes that are designed to train participants in how to help children adjust to a divorce.

The cost for the program is $125 which can be waived by the court and must be done through a program approved by the Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut.

Parents are not required to attend the classes together.

From experience, clients initially dread having to take the class and it is perceived as a waste of time.  When I ask clients about the program they generally find it beneficial and worthwhile.

Published by

Ryan McKeen

Ryan McKeen is an attorney at McKeen Law Firm in Glastonbury, Connecticut and devotes a significant portion of his practice to litigation including representing injured pedestrians, runners, and cyclists.

One thought on “Child Custody and Divorce: Connecticut Parenting Education Classes”

Comments are closed.